Lab Fab

Lab Fab season 2

Sunday, 18th October 2015 11:51pm

August 2 Twilight on the Trent

In which I wrap up my year at CPIB and try to see the future through the gloaming.

Sunday, 02nd August 2015 1:51pm

July 26 Experimentation with bells on

In which experiments during my final week at CPIB are described in loving and doubtlessly excessive detail.

Sunday, 26th July 2015 6:24pm

References for communication talk, July 22

Tuesday, 21st July 2015 12:39pm

July 19 End game

In which I describe going four for four on roots and some loose ends.

Sunday, 19th July 2015 5:53pm

July 5th - I got rhythm

In which I return to the stable root velocity profile problem and describe the results of a forray into numerical analysis.

Sunday, 05th July 2015 5:03pm

June 24 Data: Cooked and Raw

In which I rant about fetishizing raw data!

Wednesday, 24th June 2015 10:47am

June 14th, Stem and variations

Where two experiments are described: cutting segments under water (them, not me) and finding out which position on the stem is the hottest.

Sunday, 14th June 2015 12:27pm

June 7th Auxin, microtubules, and growth, redivivus.

In which the subsquent adventures of my rant about auxin, microtubules, and growth are recounted.

Sunday, 07th June 2015 7:01pm

May 31st The squozen experiment

In which the astounding variation of growth in the maize mesocotyl becomes less astounding but remains obnoxious

Sunday, 31st May 2015 5:52pm

May 24th Rhythms and blues

In which plots thicken -- or at least mulitply -- there are three of them. Rhythms in root growth and stablity therein vie for our favors.

Sunday, 24th May 2015 5:23pm

May 17th, Peas in the dark room

In which segment waviness on acid (is this the plant intellignce equivalent of a halucination?) is exemplified with a figure.

Sunday, 17th May 2015 3:07pm

May 5th, the little things in life

In which I conclude my own ad hoc quest for patterns and recount adventures slicing up sunflower and cucumber stems.

Sunday, 03rd May 2015 10:16am

April 27th Not safe for late night viewing...

In which I bring my dark-vision costume into the light.

Monday, 27th April 2015 11:13am

April 11th, Back to my roots

Sunday, 12th April 2015 8:48am

Sunday April 5th: Theme and variations

Sunday, 05th April 2015 4:43pm

March 29th Acid trip

Sunday, 29th March 2015 4:23pm

March 22nd: Getting out of the barrel

In which the barrel gets emptied but thirst for accuracy remains.

Sunday, 22nd March 2015 12:36pm

March 8th Ruling the unruly

Wherein the segment revolt is described and efforts to quell described

Sunday, 08th March 2015 10:07am

March 1: Getting to grow you.

In which meocotyls do well and anti-sugar crusaders might garner solace

Sunday, 01st March 2015 5:34pm

Feb 22: Coleoptiles on parade

In which I regale readers with tales of a successful experiment...

Sunday, 22nd February 2015 2:29pm

Feb 15th Another Error

In which I highlight a song by Nick Baskin about the same thing.

Sunday, 15th February 2015 12:17pm

February 8th, A proper face palm

Sunday, 08th February 2015 9:02am

Jan 25th Data

In which my first, actual, accomplished, stem growth experiment is lovingly described

Sunday, 25th January 2015 5:28pm

Jan 18th   Dark dark dark

Sunday, 18th January 2015 8:39pm

Sunday Jan 11th Back to the lab

In which is recounted the bright side of working in the dark

Sunday, 11th January 2015 5:15pm

Dec 29th A thought experiment for the holidays

In which the empty self-aggrandizement of the University press release is outed and alternatives suggested.

Monday, 29th December 2014 12:45pm

Dec 21st Nature smack-down

In which phase two of the Nature paper take down is described with only a little gloating.

Sunday, 21st December 2014 5:22pm

Dec 14: Distraction action

Juices flowing at the prospect of Nature debunking! Are the juices fresh squeezed or billious? You decide...

Sunday, 14th December 2014 11:50am

Dec 7th: Blog robbery

In which I account for today's microscopic entry.

Sunday, 07th December 2014 7:54pm

30/11 The cold darkness of the Universe…

Sunday, 30th November 2014 1:24pm

November 23: Out-reaching for the skies

How do oats, peas, beans, and barely grow? In which I describe my efforts to give a Knowledge Transfer Seminar to enlighten the local non-academics about life in the Lab-Fab universe.

Sunday, 23rd November 2014 5:42pm

16/11 Great British Bioscience Festival

In which Lego meets the joy of discovery

Monday, 17th November 2014 12:20pm

9th of Nov: On the fruitful harvest of knowledge

My outsider's take on some issues relating to responsible research innovation. Hint: I am skeptical.

Monday, 10th November 2014 3:38pm

2/11 Lines of sight

In which we learn how Hoagland's rules, lines down the middle of the root may wobble, and pinholes might look sharp but reveal little...

Sunday, 02nd November 2014 3:05pm

26/10 Futzing

Sunday, 26th October 2014 2:58pm

19/10 Slowly ramping up

Where the fun of growth medium and tricky lighting is described

Sunday, 19th October 2014 5:15pm

12/10 Crunching crunching crunching

Where an interesting prompt from Gerrit is revealed

Sunday, 12th October 2014 4:31pm

5/10 Real data at last

Where actual results are presented. The root velocity profile appears stable as a waterfall

Sunday, 05th October 2014 3:59pm

28/9 A holiday

Sunday, 28th September 2014 4:35pm

21/9 Velocity Atrocity

Where we begin to learn about the highs and lows of root velocities.

Sunday, 21st September 2014 9:36pm

14/9 A diversity Problem

In which I rant about the individualistic tendancies of the maize seedlings and introduce readers to the word, mesocotyl

Sunday, 14th September 2014 9:36pm

To kill a meniscus

Where the meniscus isn't really killed but ins and outs of fluorescence and the confocal version are discribed

Sunday, 07th September 2014 1:10pm

The problem of the meniscus

Where firefly flashes and the growth of stems are introduced and problems with apparatus.

Sunday, 31st August 2014 10:23am

The Yawn of Time

Of N-dimensional hypercubes and a calculated enzyme rate

Monday, 25th August 2014 11:31am

Experiment one -- A rose by another name

Where lab weed is defined and fluorescent marker proteins explained, at least a little.

Tuesday, 19th August 2014 10:08pm

And so begins

Fable one--the three little pigs

Monday, 11th August 2014 2:38pm

Laboratory Fables, or if you will Laboratory Fabulous. I can hope for the latter but will try in these posts to generate the former. Stories of doing science, as it unfolds. As described in the first post (and so begins) I am a prof. at the University of Massachusetts Amherst who finds themself at the University of Nottingham on a Marie Curie Fellowship to investigate certain mysteries of how plants grow. These posts will count and recount the broken test tubes, hyperbolic hypotheses, flashes of insight and just poor old hot flashes that happen along the way. Science, logical and rational, as jammed up by the laboratory environment and the human mind. Tobias I. Baskin